Skip navigation
Cedar Rapids Virtual Academy
1Full-time virtual school
student waving near flag

A magnet school is a theme-based school providing choice in student learning environment and are built on five pillars: diversity, innovative curriculum and professional development, academic excellence, high quality instructional systems, and family and community partnerships. Magnet schools utilize state and Cedar Rapids Community School District educational standards, but deliver instruction within a theme.

CRCSD has five magnet schools of choice:

  • Cedar River Academy at Taylor Elementary—sustainability theme
  • Johnson STEAM Academy—science, technology, engineering, arts, mathematics (STEAM) theme
  • Kenwood Leadership Academy—leadership theme
  • McKinley STEAM Academy—STEAM theme
  • Roosevelt Creative Corridor Business Academy—business theme through STEAM, leadership and entrepreneurship, and global systems

Students who live outside of the magnet schools’ attendance zones may enter the magnet school lottery. Learn more about the magnet school lottery here.


exterior of cedar river academy

Cedar River Academy
at Taylor Elementary School

720 7th Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA

exterior of johnson steam academy

Johnson STEAM Academy

355 18th St SE, Cedar Rapids, IA

exterior of kenwood leadership academy

Kenwood Leadership Academy

3700 E Ave NE, Cedar Rapids, IA

exterior of mckinley steam academy

McKinley STEAM Academy

620 10th St SE, Cedar Rapids, IA

exterior of roosevelt creative corridor business academy

Roosevelt Creative Corridor
Business Academy

300 13th St NW, Cedar Rapids, IA